Reviews - The Old Station B & B

Great stay and wonderful recommandation for restaurant - Rating 5/5

Great experience. Sleeping in the old train is extraordinary. The host is very nice, very gentle and was even able to book a table for us on a late Friday night in a great restaurant. If you plan to go to St-Andrews or in the neighborhood, you should definitely stay in the Old Station B&B.

Reviewer: Oes Nicolas | Wed 12th Jul 2017


Interesting experience - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed in the railway coach. What an experience! Luxury in such a small space but made spacious by using sympathetic items. Beautifully furnished. Just brilliant. Breakfast was excellent with a fantastic array of fresh fruit etc as well as the traditional fare. Would love to come again if we get over to Fife again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Sarah Goldie | Thu 8th Jun 2017


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

What a find! Warm welcome, beautiful setting, extremely comfortable room, fantastic breakfast. We hope to return. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mr. MICHAEL CONNOLLY | Sat 27th May 2017


Great stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second time to stay in the train carriage at the old station and our accommodation was just as good as it was 3 years ago when we visited! Colin & Fiona are great hosts. Thanks Fiona for the Easter egg for our son- he scoffed the lot!!We hope to visit you again soon- thank you

Reviewer: Mrs. Jacqueline MCGREGOR | Wed 12th Apr 2017


Comfortable and friendly - Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable room. Friendly proprietor. Breakfast full, tasty and well-cooked.Convenient for St Andrews access. Wonderful entertainment from the many and varied wild birds on the feeders (plus a red squirrel!).

Reviewer: Mr. Grahame Edmonds | Mon 10th Apr 2017


A lovely B & B - Rating 4/5

We were going to a wedding locally and chose the Old Station because of it\'s proximity to the venue. Very welcoming and friendly and a lovely setting. We would stay here again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Fiona Edwards | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


Value for money - Rating 5/5

Great accommodation and great hosts. We stay in the carriage which is well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with wide choice of food. We have already booked a return visit.

Reviewer: Mr. Colin Hudson | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We spent 3 nights at the Old Station (2 rooms) with our 17 & 15 year old sons. Our travels had us staying at several places, but The Old Station was everyone\'s favorite. The pool table was a hit with the boys - great to get them off their electronics. Perfect location for visiting St. Andrews. Colin & Fiona were perfect hosts. We look forward to returning.

Reviewer: Mrs. Pamela Kimatian | Wed 20th Jul 2016


Good location - Rating 5/5

A comfortable, welcoming B & B. Excellent breakfasts. Lots of good advice about the local area. Would certainly stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. Phil Benbow | Sun 17th Jul 2016


27-30 June 2016 - Rating 4/5

Lovely Guest House. Superb hosts. Great breakfast. Ideal for St Andrews & neighbouring area. Tip - give the train carriage a lick of paint!

Reviewer: Mr. John Sibley | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Review of Old Station B and B - Rating 4/5

Lovely location, wonderful and friendly staff. Well presented and decorated rooms. Great breakfast.

Reviewer: Mr. Thomas Gavigan | Thu 19th May 2016


Superb - Rating 5/5

we had a lovely overnight stay here. Fiona the hostess was very welcoming and helpful. The room was very nicely decorated and meticulously clean. Breakfast was delicious and watching the birds feed outside was a bonus. we will certainly come back.

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Stark | Mon 25th Apr 2016


brilliant visit - Rating 4/5

lovely room and the welcome was truly wonderful- we were made to feel so special- we\'ll be back!

Reviewer: Mrs. Ruth Frett | Fri 15th Apr 2016


Would definitely be happy stay here again - Rating 4/5

Staying at the Old Station was a very pleasant experience. The location was rural, quiet and beautiful. Nice views both from my room and from the breakfast room. Good breakfast, very attentive host and unbelievably comfortable bed. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Reviewer: Ms. Olga Speakes | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Great Time - Rating 4/5

If your headed to St Andrews, this place offers a great place to stay. Only a mile outside of St Andrews it offers the quiet of the countryside. The owners, Collin & Fiona are wonderful hosts. They make you feel like family. Really had a great time.

Reviewer: Mr. Alexander Milton | Mon 14th Sep 2015


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place in the Scottish countryside and well cared for in every detail. Lovely owners Colin and Fiona. Good breakfast. Great sleep in the carriage!!!

Reviewer: Ms. Annalisa Citterio | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Lovely setting - Rating 4/5

Excellent accommodation friendly hosts and an excellent breakfast to set you up for the day!

Reviewer: Mr. Brian fulton | Thu 25th Jun 2015


Fab welcome and great surroundings but one downside... - Rating 4/5

This is he 2nd time I\'ve stayed in the railway carriage and the welcome was excellent.. The train carriage is really quirky and we wanted somewhere unusual to stay as heading out to The Adamson for dinner.. St Andrews is gorgeous and really great to walk around... Breakfast was lovely and the host was very chatty although did forget our morning cup of tea with breakfast... He only thing that spoilt this visit was hat in the other carriage we had a couple with a child who ran about shouting and also cried from just after 7am on Sunday morning which continued on until breakfast around 9.15... Not sure I would take he gamble again and stay here as it really did ruin a relaxing stay.. THe walls between the 2 suites are quite flimsy and unfortunately we did not get much sleep after that which was a shame given the great hosts and location

Reviewer: Miss. Nikki Wilton | Sun 8th Mar 2015


Hubbys bthday treat - Rating 5/5

Well I kept it a surprise for my husbands bthday and we weren\'t disappointed so lovely and very unique. I asked for a certain named bottle of plonk to be added to the room which they gladly suplied. A lovely place to stay and def will recommend. We ate at the Grange which was also outstanding x

Reviewer: Mrs. Sharon Boyd | Sun 5th Oct 2014


Great Weekend Away - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Old Station Guesthouse 12th & 13th September in the Carriage Suite with the kitchen. Definitely a unique experience and our young daughter was very excited to be \"living in the choo choo train\" Quite tight for room with the travel cot up but we were aware it would be before our stay. It suited us better to have the kitchen to make the kids supper etc. Kitchen was fine and the cooker and appliances were all modern. Very friendly hosts and very gentle dogs Zack and Cody who our daughter loved. Lovely cooked breakfast in the morning and great selection of fruit, cereals and breads. Loved every minute of our stay and would definitely return! Many thanks Ross, Carly, Chloe & Connor

Reviewer: Mr. Ross Davidson | Tue 16th Sep 2014


The Old Station St Andrews - Rating 5/5

Fabulous place to stay. Wonderful Hosts. Clean, comfortable rooms. A great area downstairs for a little R&R at the end of a long day and one of the best breakfasts of the trip.

Response

Thank you very much for leaving a guest review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast! I hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Fiona

Reviewer: Mrs. Julie Johnson | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Haven - Rating 5/5

As a frequent traveller around the coasts of Scotland, it\'s a pleasure to stay at a new location and sample the hospitality and surroundings. I would highly recommend a stay at The Old Station. We were made very welcome and made to feel very comfortable by the owners, Gordon and Fiona. A superb guesthouse amidst beautiful and peaceful countryside surroundings, 5 minutes drive from St Andrews town centre. I will most definitely pay a return visit. A very highly recommended guesthouse.

Response

Thank you so much for leaving a guest review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again sometime. kind regards Fiona

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen Scott | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodations and breakfast. Collin was great helping us with a tee time at a local course.

Reviewer: Ms. Carol Scherrman | Mon 21st Jul 2014


Very friendly - Rating 5/5

Just spent the one night however the accommodation and breakfast were first class. Lovely gardens and a beautiful view from the breakfast room. It did help that we had the most fantastic weather.

Reviewer: Mrs. Annette Steel | Sun 20th Apr 2014


Very nice - Rating 5/5

We felt very welcome in this establishment and really enjoyed the different feel of the carriage room. Everything is nice, clean and the owners seem attentive to details! Definitely coming back when we are again in the region. Simone und Pascal from Switzerland

Reviewer: Mr. Pascal Behr | Sat 19th Oct 2013


stay in Africa room, 22-25 Sept - Rating 4/5

We had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in the Africa Room (a free upgrade from our originally booked room). Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and the location, within proximity of all those wonderful golf courses and pretty fishing villages, was also excellent. All in all, a perfect stop for the 4th leg of our 30th-wedding anniversary tour of lowland Scotland. Thank you for being part of the adventure! Jackie & Nick.

Reviewer: Mr. Nicholas Hancocks | Thu 3rd Oct 2013


Weekend for Wedding - Rating 5/5

Stayed in one of the carriages, very cleverly converted to give luxury in a small space. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast served in the main house was excellent.

Reviewer: Mrs. Margaret Noble | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


fantastic - Rating 5/5

loved the railway carriage so nice to wake up in the morning to such different and unique surroundings. the breakfast was delicious. we only met colin wiseman the owner and not his wife but nevertheless he made us feel so welcome. perfect setting could not ask for more. we will definately be back. thank you colin and fiona for such an great experience.

Reviewer: Mrs. Susan Harris | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


The Old Station B&B - Rating 4/5

Our stay was very pleasant. The only negative thing I have to comment on is not having some sort of shelving in the shower to put anything!

Reviewer: Ms. Carol Forte | Sat 21st Sep 2013


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

The Old Station B&B is a 6-minute drive from the St. Andrews golf course. Lovely grounds and a quaint facility in a renovated and expanded former RR station. Our hostess, Fiona was wonderful and bent over backwards to help us with our travel plans.

Reviewer: Mr. John Smith | Fri 23rd Aug 2013


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Dear Colin & Fiona, My wife and I enjoyed our stay last week at your guesthouse; thank you for the lovely stay in St Andrews. We really enjoyed your spacious and very comfortable bedroom, your delicious breakfast and the superb location. Your welcome was very friendly and the service excellent; thank you for all of the information you gave us and thank you for your warm and caring attitude. We have recommended your guesthouse to family, friends and colleagues. We hope to return as soon as possible. Thanks once again Massimo Gori e Monica Falautano Milano - Italy

Reviewer: Mr. Massimo Gori | Thu 22nd Aug 2013


The Coach - Rating 5/5

The coach was clean, comfortable and well presented and the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food. A very friendly establishment.

Reviewer: Mr. Tony Richardson | Mon 19th Aug 2013


our stay in the Old station - Rating 5/5

It was a wonderfull stay in this B&B; the welcome was very nice, we spoke to the hostess and her family, the house , the bedroom were very nice and quite.We can only recommend this stay to everybody.

Reviewer: Mrs. Christine Brodhag | Wed 7th Aug 2013


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Colin was an awesome host. He was friendly with everyone. The breakfast was great with him taking orders for how you wanted eggs cooked and what meats you wanted. The room was clean comfortable and very nice. The area was lovely in the country but do close to St. Andrews.

Reviewer: Mrs. Mary Ann Bey | Wed 31st Jul 2013


Fantastic Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

A beautiful guest house in a stunning location. My parents and I spent a lovely two night stay here from Sunday to Tuesday and couldn't have asked for better. The Old Station is in a lovely countryside location, situated in an ideal spot for exploring St Andrews (10 minute drive) and the small villages along the Fife coast. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you would need from a fridge to sweets with your coffee. The grounds and public areas are welcoming and peaceful too with so many types of different birds, which dad enjoyed pointing out as we watched them feed through the conservatory during our fantastic breakfast. When we arrived we were welcomed by the most wonderful host anyone could have wished for, kind, friendly and accommodating every need, even to the extent of serving coffee to the rest of our family (another 9 people) when they arrived for a day out on the Monday...thank you once again Fiona for your kind hospitality. We left feeling very relaxed and pleased with our stay, would highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Reviewer: Ms. Audrey Pate | Sat 27th Jul 2013


Absolutely Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the carriage suite and we couldn't recommend it enough. The way the space was used was ingenious and the carriage was incredibly comfortable and furnished to a really high standard. We were on a driving tour of Scotland so we welcomed having a kitchen in the carriage which meant we could unwind in our suite rather than have to go out for dinner. Breakfast is provided in the main houses and was of excellent quality - it was also lovely to have fresh fruit available as well as a cooked breakfast. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Reviewer: Mrs. Michelle Aspey | Sun 9th Jun 2013


our lovely break - Rating 5/5

loved the carriage,lounge and library were lovely, breakfast good, grounds beautiful,Cody the dog is a star!! StAndrews is a lovely place

Reviewer: Mr. William Gold | Tue 21st May 2013


Wedding Stay - Rating 4/5

We chose to stay in the Scottish Room at the Old Station. We were given a warm welcome by Fiona and the room was both comfortable and attractive. There was a good choice at breakfast and Colin was helpful in advice about taxis and where to go in St Andrews. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Sheila Leigh | Tue 7th May 2013


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Cant really fault this lovely B&B. We stayed in the carrige which was nicely fitted out with everything you could ask for. The only thing I could really say was it was not warm, the bedroom was cosy but the small sitting room was chilli but it is February! Overall it was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome. I would definately recommend this B&B.

Reviewer: Mrs. Lesley Mcdonald | Mon 25th Feb 2013


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Old Station B&B and enjoyed it immensely. Fiona and Colin are excellent hosts, and the B&B itself is well-furnished and comfortable--and in a beautiful setting. Highly recommend!

Reviewer: Mr. Timothy White | Wed 21st Nov 2012


old station - Rating 5/5

We had a very relaxing three day stay at the old station.The weather was dreadful but it was really nice to sit in the lounge in front of the log fire reading and drinking coffee. John andJanette were excellent stand in hosts. The only minor complaint, or grouse, was that breakfast being between 8 and 8-30 was a little early. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Noreen Paterson | Tue 13th Nov 2012


Wonderful service - Rating 5/5

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the B and B. Colin and Fiona were very welcoming. I would definitely stay here again when we return to St. Andrews.

Reviewer: Ms. Ilene Bruccoleri | Fri 21st Sep 2012


The railway carriage - Rating 4/5

The carriage in itself was very nice as was the rest of the facilities, i.e. the guest lounge, hostess was very friendly but only having a half hour slot from 8.30 to 9am for breakfast in the morning, particularly a Sunday morning, was unacceptable as it meant we missed breakfast. The early morning check out of 10am could/should be extended to a more reasonable time.

Reviewer: Ms. Pauline Hamilton | Sun 16th Sep 2012


The Old Station Is Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Colin and Fiona were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to help us with tee times, etc.. A nice break in the countryside if you've been staying in 'big' cities like Edinburgh during a trip through Scotland. Can't recommend highly enough.

Reviewer: Mr. Thomas Moore | Mon 10th Sep 2012


Quick visit - Rating 5/5

Really friendly people, clean and tidy rooms & awesome breakfast!! Thank you!

Reviewer: Mr. Sean Van Tricht | Wed 15th Aug 2012


Skidegodt, Egon - Rating 5/5

Great stay in the old railway sleeping car. Friendly host Colin.

Reviewer: Dr. Franz Busch | Sun 29th Jul 2012


Carriage - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay in the carriage. Pity the weather wasn't great but the scenery was fantastic. Colin was an excellent host and we will be back in the future.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Mcfadyen | Mon 23rd Jul 2012